# **Meeting Minutes**

**Date**: 25<sup>th</sup> August, 2020 **Time**: 10:00 AM to 11:00 AM

#### **Members Present:**

Fr. Joseph Nellanatt
Prof. Manoranjan Kalita
Mr. Arup Baruah
Mr. Sunil Deka
Dr. Vikramjit Kakati
Dr. Bikramjit Goswami
Mr. Ankur Goswami

9. Dr. Uzzal Sharma 10. Mr. Hironmay Deb

#### **Meeting Minutes:**

The meeting started with Mr. Arup Baruah presenting the basic features of the NISP policy alongwith a brief introduction of pre-incubation and incubation stages. The tasks assigned by MIC/AICTE were then listed. The tasks assigned were:

Task 1: Establish an odd number of a committee with experts from incubation and preincubation services and facilities, selected student/alumni innovators and startup founders from the regional ecosystem, representations from key industry/industry associations/network enablers active in the region, with NISP co-ordinator as the convener

Task 2: Conduct brain storming session to decide the following: Frame vision, Mission statements, long term objectives, Activities, Input matrix and set of programs to be implemented, set key performance indicators, conduct baseline survey. The plan need to be prepared for the next 5 years.

Task 3: Create a dedicated web portal to display NISP document, facilities available for startups and entrepreneurship, activities planned (idea competition, hackathons, workshops etc.), enlist the regional ecosystem enablers such as incubators, accelerators, Explore IP support available and place the details in institute website, Display partnerships, collaboration efforts and MoUs, alumini network, ensure that web portal is dynamic with regular updates.

Task 1, 2 and 3 need ot be completed preferably by 2nd September. The NISP document need to be adopted before the start of the new academic year.

Accordingly, a committee was formed with the following members:

Chairperson: Prof. Manoranjan Kalita

Convener: Mr. Arup Baruah

Members:

- 1. Dr. Vikramjit Kakati
- 2. Dr. Bikramjit Goswami
- 3. Dr. Uzzal Sharma
- 4. Mr. Hiranmay Deb
- 5. Mr. Sunil Deka
- 6. Mr. T.Johnson Singh
- 7. Mr. Mriganka Gogoi
- 8. Mr. Mustafizur Rahman
- 9. Mr. Victor Narzary
- 10. Mr. Supriyo Sen
- 11. Mr. Jai Kishan
- 12. Mr. Prince Salim
- 13. Mr. Chandan Dutta

- Dr. Viramjit Kakati proposed three person as external experts:
- 1. Mr. Bidyananda Borkakaty, Ex-Chairman, Tea Board of India
- 2. Mr. Pranjal Konwar, COO, IIM Calcutta Innovation Park and Assam Startup
- 3. Mr. Putul Sarma CEO USGRAVIKA

### The following possible areas for startup were identified:

- 1. IoT for Agriculture
- 2. Artificial Intelligence based products
- 3. Optical sensor based applications
- 4. Signal processing
- 5. Rapid prototyping
- 6. Industrial and agricultural waste based construction material
- 7. Low cost housing
- 8. Operations related services
- 9. Biosolutions for the agriculture and health sector

## Challenges identified were:

- 1. Students prefer a salaried job rather than entrepreneurship as a career option
- 2. Spread innovation and entrepreneurship awarness among student, faculty, and staff
- 3. Provide startup formation knowledge including ideation, business plan development, market analysis etc.
- 4. Partnership with regional incubation centers

#### **Action Item:**

1. Mr. Arup Baruah was entrusted with the task of writing the first draft of the NISP policy for ADBU